Skip to main content

October is always an exciting time for our students as they participate in the Annual Cyril Beaumont Scholarship held at KS Dance Vocational College and Studios, Warrington, Cheshire, North West.

Matz SkugThe historian and author Cyril Beaumont was a good friend to the Maestro Enrico Cecchetti and it was the influence of Cyril Beaumont, writer, ballet historian and critic, that the Cecchetti Society was founded in 1922, to preserve and promote the Maestro Enrico Cecchetti’s work.

The Cyril Beaumont Scholarship is a spectacular event where our dancers are put through their paces dancing a 2hour Ballet class led this year by the wonderful Gillian Hurst, Senior Examiner of the Cecchetti Society, holder of the Enrico Cecchetti Diploma and Fellow of the ISTD. Who was accompanied by the one and only fantastic John Taggart on Piano. This fantastically delivered class incorporated all of Cecchetti’s principals. The choreographed enchainment’s required a strong sense of musicality, performance and expression from the dancers throughout. Each section of the class encouraged the dancers to demonstrate their finest use of their strength and technical ability.

With fast paced footwork allegro and batterie being asked of the dancers they were given ample opportunity to demonstrate agility and in-depth understanding of movement. In turn thus showing off their abilities to demonstrate well executed skilled footwork and precision of body alignment and use of epaulment.

KS Dance Principal Miss Kate Simmons and her Faculty were delighted to share the company of Catherine Hutchon, Chair of the Cecchetti Society & Elisabeth Swan Chair of the Cecchetti Trust, amongst many other influential members of the Dance Industry.


Adjudicating the Cyril Beaumont Scholarship 2019 was the inspiring Matz Skoog Principal Dancer of Royal Swedish Ballet and English National Ballet to name but a few.

and Mary Stassinopolous who is a former Senior Cecchetti Examiner and Supporter of the method.

We wish to congratulate all of our dancers and proudly announce

The Cyril Beaumont 2019 Scholarship results


1st prize went to Danielle Burgess.


Runner up: Ella Mathews


Most Promising Boy: Ben NewmanBen Newman


Musicality Award: Hannah Gerrard


Commendations were awarded to  Paige Curzon, Elliot Adams and Elysia Capewell


A huge well done to all.